Saucy Hamburger Crumble

We had monsoon rains and thunderstorms here this afternoon and evening, so the chef didn’t venture outside to grill dinner. Instead we enjoyed leftover steak in fresh buns, and with tossed salad. No picture, since I was afraid to hold any metal objects with all the lightning flashing in the sky.

In today’s Toronto Star there was an article about Canadian cookbooks, which I found interesting. My first cookbook, the Betty Crocker’s Cookbook for Boys and Girls, wasn’t Canadian  — I bought it on a trip to Massena, NY, when I was about 10 years old.

I don’t remember why I wanted it, but it’s been well used over the years, so I certainly got my money’s worth. It still has the $1.00 sticker on the front cover.

It was one of the few cookbooks that I had when I got married, and it taught me how to make basic things like scrambled eggs, french toast, and scalloped potatoes.

The recipes are simple, and easy to follow, and I still use the cook book occasionally. It even has a recipe for slop, but they call it “Saucy Hamburger Crumble.” I guess it’s a little fancier than ours.

Saucy Hamburger Crumble

Melt in frying pan…………………1 tbsp fat

Add and brown lightly…………1 small onion, chopped

Then add and brown…………..1 pound ground beef
1 tsp salt

Break the meat into small pieces.

Stir in………………………………..1/4 cup flour

Then stir in………………………..2 cups water or milk

Heat until gravy bubbles.

Serve over mashed potatoes. (4 servings)

This entry was posted in Beef, Cookbooks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saucy Hamburger Crumble

  1. Pingback: A Dark and Stormy Night

  2. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan 20170114 | What's For Supper Tonight?

Comments are closed.