Carrot Cookies

Tonight the chef brought home cold meat and salads, so we enjoyed delicious deli plates, as you can see below.

After dinner, I took one last look through the Your Money’s Worth in Food recipe book that I mentioned a couple of days ago. I found one more favourite recipe that I’ll share here. I used to make these quite often, and they were yummy, with a cakey texture, and lots of good ingredients.

Carrot Cookies

  • ¾ c sifted flour (I use all purpose)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • ¾ c whole wheat flour
  • 1½ c quick cooking rolled oats
  • 1 c seedless raisins
  • ½ c shortening
  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c grated raw carrot
  1. Sift and measure flour and sift with baking powder, soda, salt and spices
  2. Combine with whole wheat flour, rolled oats, and raisins.
  3. Cream shortening with brown sugar. Beat in eggs one at a time, beating well. Stir in carrots.
  4. Gradually add dry mixture, mixing well.
  5. Drop mixture from teaspoon on greased baking sheets. Bake in moderate oven, 350°F, for 12 to 15 minutes.

Makes 5 dozen cookies.

This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Carrot Cookies

  1. Kathleen says:

    I can’t wait to try these carrot cookies!

  2. saugablog says:

    Thanks Kathleen, I hope you like them! Usually I bake them at the low end of the suggested time, to keep them moist.
    Debra

Comments are closed.